This museum is closed permanently.
The Abbey of Baume-les-Dames, also known as the Abbey of Sainte Odile, is a Benedictine abbey located in the commune of Baume-les-Dames, Doubs, France. Originally named Palma or Palmense Monasterium, the abbey is believed to have been founded in the 4th century by Saint Germain, Archbishop of Besanรงon, or by Garnier, mayor of the palace of the county of Burgundy, who died at the end of the 6th century.
The abbey was rebuilt in the 18th century. The current abbey church was constructed between 1738 and 1760 in the neo-Romanesque style by an architect from Besanรงon, Nicolas Nicole. The construction was halted in 1760 due to financial constraints. Originally, Nicole had planned a church 44 meters long with a bell tower porch. Only the choir was completed and it stands 24 meters high.
Today, only the abbey church remains of the original abbey complex, which included the church, the courtyard, and the abbey buildings. The interior was decorated with white and pink marble columns. The altar was made of precious Italian marble and the floor tiles were made of different colored stones. The furniture was also very luxurious, including the lectern of Nicole, which has been moved to the church.
History & Anthropology
No exhibitions in Abbaye de Baume-les-Dames have been found.
Abbaye de Baume-les-Dames has 1 rating.
This rating is based on the rating of this museum on several other platforms.